I'm working on a version of Super Breakout

sydney

I'm working on a version of Super Breakout

Post by sydney »

I started learning about assembly language programming about a year ago but have been distracted by real life on a couple of occasions and didn't get too far. I recently restarted my Super Breakout conversion for the BBC micro and I'm at the stage where I'd like to show what I've got done so far.

I'd originally just wanted to use this project to help me to learn how to code but Tricky's fantastic conversions of arcade games has inspired me to try to produce as good a conversion of the original Super Breakout arcade game as I can.

So far I've got a basic arena drawn on the screen with a moving ball and a stationary bat. My next steps will be to introduce control of the bat with collision detection, finish up the arena and get the wall of blocks on screen. I'm hoping to get some kind of palette switching working so that I can have 6 colours on a mode 1 screen. If I don't manage that myself Tricky has kindly offered his code to achieve this.

Here is a link to a short youtube clip of where I'm at right now. I'm going to update this topic at the same time as I update my retrosoftware topic.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qZIFt9pdzQ
richardtoohey

Re: I'm working on a version of Super Breakout

Post by richardtoohey »

A very sincere =D> from me.

I really want to write a game - even some animated sprites would be a start - but I spend more time dreaming about it (that's easy!) than actually doing the hard work. So well done!
Zarchos

Post by Zarchos »

Hey that's nice !

Small bug, though :wink: when you compare position of the ball and the left bar, it's with the right side of the bar you should do the test, not the left side ...

Keep going, assembly programming is a really rewarding experience.
And keep posting your progress here, that's interesting.
1024MAK

Post by 1024MAK »

Zarchos wrote:Hey that's nice !