BBC Micro Transfer Data Issue

discuss bbc micro and electron emulators (including mame) here!
shelly

BBC Micro Transfer Data Issue

Post by shelly »

Hello,

This is my 1st post, so hello 2 every1 :)

I have some floppys i want to trans across to the BBC emulator.

I have a Beeb Master, and an external drive.

My old PC is a Toshiba 4070CDS. Found these specs: http://www.pchub.com/uph/laptop/199-393 ... 3-Mhz.html

How can I transfer my discs into images to use on the emulator?

Laymans terms if you can ;)

Thank you so much for your kind help.

Shelly xxx
sorvad

Re: BBC Micro Transfer Data Issue

Post by sorvad »

Hello and welcome.

There are quite a few ways to transfer real disks to the emulator, differing in price and how much fiddling you need to do.

As your just getting back into beebs you probably want to keep costs down a little. So I'll start with possibly the cheapest way

Serial Transfer
You need a special cable which costs about £5 in parts, someone here may sell you one or if you feel confident make yourself. With this you connect one end to your Master and the other to your laptop (I note it has a 9 pin serial port). Then using free software (DFS Transfer) you can pop a floppy in your Masters drive and the entire contents will be transferred across to a disk image on your PC.

Disk Transfer
If you're laptop as a floppy (not according to specs), as you've got a Master connecting a second 3.5" drive to it is not to hard but you'll need to replace the cable that goes into your current drive. If you don't feel confident this may not be for you. Although people do occasionally sell 5.25"/3.5" combo's from time to time. Not sure what the going rate would be.

Data Centre
Available from RetroClinic (member of this site). A very professional and capable solution. With it you can plug a USB memory stick into it. Transfer all your stuff from floppy to the stick and then just plug the stick in your PC, job done.