Hello- a newbie from Cheshire with problems

where both new and existing forum members can say 'hi' to each other!
JohnBr

Hello- a newbie from Cheshire with problems

Post by JohnBr »

Hello, I am an old newbie, based near Macclesfield in Cheshire, looking for some help with my Acorn BBC and its peripherals. Here's where I am coming from: I lived through the Acorn BBC era but never owned one, so now I am well retired I decided to buy and use one to get to know it and maybe to take me back to my younger days. I have been reasonably computer-use literate for most of my life but not into electronic engineering. I have bought an Acorn BBC 32k with Acorn DFS and a Series 7 board, an Acorn Archimedes monitor 28-AKF11, an Acorn cassette recorder ANF03, and a Cumana CSX400S double sided 80T 5.25" disk drive. The problem is that I haven't yet been able to load a single program because a number of things in my kit haven't worked properly. The current problem is that the monitor screen goes blank after about 8 minutes, but will come back for another 8 minutes if allowed to cool (power off) for about 10 minutes. I bought the kit from a reputable retailer on the south coast who have been supportive to me, but each time something needs fixing I have to pack up the products and mail them back to the retailer as it is too far to drive to them. My question to the Forum is, "Is there anyone experienced in Acorn BBC electronic repair who would fix my kit for a fee and who lives within driving distance of Macclesfield - say Cheshire, Derbyshire, Staffordshire, Manchester, West Yorkshire - so I don't have to parcel everything up and post it if I have a problem. Many thanks, John.
danielj

Re: Hello- a newbie from Cheshire with problems

Post by danielj »

Hi John,
Is it the monitor that's duff or the computer?