Another Hello again! (From Northamptonshire)

where both new and existing forum members can say 'hi' to each other!
Neil

Another Hello again! (From Northamptonshire)

Post by Neil »

Hello all,

I thought as I have gone through a change with my BBC’s that I would say hi again and describe the upgrades etc and just how amazing they are! There are a number of great people on this forum who have re-invented some of the classic hardware, most we couldn’t afford, I am just blown away by the quality and every item I have bought has just ‘worked’.

History:

I started programming and got the bug in 1978 on a Research machine 380Z at school. It had an old black and white TV, a massive teletypewriter printer and a crap tape player. I loved it. As part of the computer studies, we did Basic and Cecil. Cecil was a primitive assembler designed for school and I think it was loosely based on 8080, but I could be wrong. Anyway writing my first program was the start.
In the RAF, while training, I did a course on the 8080-8085 chip, that was classified top secret and I can’t tell you about that! :-)
I started out with a Spectrum, then got the BBC B in 1984, when I could afford it. I also got a DSDD disk drive and controller (about 500 pounds then) and a 6502 processor (don’t ask that price). I could only get the hardware from a small shop in Norwich and looking back, they did mark up their prices. The best addition though was the volume control I added, I sourced the most perfect old wire-wound POT (it came from an old ship radio) and it felt so good when adjusting the volume.
Anyway times slips by and I unfortunately sold my BBC, however I did buy a few more. I sold them, and now I have just one, a BBC Master, that I love.

In 2009 I developed the now classic space invaders that we all play… LOL.. okay I play, it’s sparse invaders and source and binary were on RetroSoftware, many thanks for all the help then. However we all know Tricky’s Space Invaders is the one we all play.