PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
cr12925
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by cr12925 »

davehill wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 10:25 pm
cr12925 wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 10:16 pm
‘ip addr’ output?

c
OOOPS!

Code: Select all

pi@econetrpi:~ $ ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
 …
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether dc:a6:32:36:bf:37 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.206/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute eth0
       valid_lft 86319sec preferred_lft 75519sec
    inet6 fe80::edd7:78bc:18d7:357f/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether dc:a6:32:36:bf:39 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: tun0: <NO-CARRIER,POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST,NOARP,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 500
    link/none 
    inet 10.0.0.254/24 scope global tun0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
pi@econetrpi:~ $ 
Presumably host 1.1 is binding to 192.168.140.1?

… which is missing by the looks of things. .2 to .254 are configured, but not .1 !

C
2 x Master 128, BBC B+IntegraB, Viglen floppy drives, A3000 ZIDEFS+Econet, RISC PC StrongArm Mk3+Econet ModulePidule, 3 x Econets, 5 x Pi Econet bridges, organist, former purveyor of BBS software...
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

cr12925 wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 10:31 pm Presumably host 1.1 is binding to 192.168.140.1?

… which is missing by the looks of things. .2 to .254 are configured, but not .1 !

C
Yes, I agree. This is the script I have used for the whole time...

Code: Select all

!/bin/sh

BASE=192.168.140
    INT=lo

    for a in {2..254}
    do
      ip address add $BASE.$a/24 dev $INT
    done
However, it has always worked in the past. I have changed it to create the .1 address, which now shows, but still doesn't work. Still get the unable to bind error.

Code: Select all

pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/utilities $ ./econet-hpbridge -zz
[+       0.035000] tid    2052 MAIN    : Internal         Bridge to engine room: Start main engines...
[+       0.035000] tid    2052 MAIN    : Virtual    2     Starting Virtual despatcher thread
[+       0.035000] tid    2052 MAIN    : Virtual    3     Starting Virtual despatcher thread
[+       0.036000] tid    2053 DESPATCH: Virtual    2     Thread started (tid 2053)
[+       0.036000] tid    2053 DIVERT  :            2     Starting divert devices
[+       0.036000] tid    2052 MAIN    : Wire       1     Starting Wire despatcher thread
[+       0.036000] tid    2054 DESPATCH: Virtual    3     Thread started (tid 2054)
[+       0.036000] tid    2054 DIVERT  :            3     Starting divert devices
[+       0.036000] tid    2055 DESPATCH: Wire       1     Thread started (tid 2055)
[+       0.036000] tid    2055 DIVERT  :            1     Starting divert devices
[+       0.036000] tid    2055 DIVERT  : Wire       1.249 Started Pipe divert device
[+       0.036000] tid    2056 LISTEN  : AUN              Unable to bind AUN listener socket station 1.1 (Address already in use)
[+       0.036000] tid    2057 DESPATCH: Pipe       1.249 Thread started (tid 2057)
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/utilities $ 
Last edited by davehill on Sat Apr 13, 2024 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

cr12925 wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 10:31 pm Presumably host 1.1 is binding to 192.168.140.1?

… which is missing by the looks of things. .2 to .254 are configured, but not .1 !

C
I reverted back to 2.0 and it all works fine, so I am lost as to what is going on.

Code: Select all

pi@econetrpi:~ $ sudo systemctl status econethpb.service 
● econethpb.service - Econet High Performance Bridge
     Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/econethpb.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Sat 2024-04-13 23:19:28 BST; 1min 38s ago
   Main PID: 1315 (econet-hpbridge)
      Tasks: 14 (limit: 4915)
        CPU: 830ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/econethpb.service
             └─1315 /usr/local/sbin/econet-hpbridge

Apr 13 23:19:28 econetrpi systemd[1]: Started Econet High Performance Bridge.
pi@econetrpi:~ $ 
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
User avatar
sweh
Posts: 3315
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: 07410 New Jersey
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by sweh »

You appear to be missing 192.168.140.1/24 so you can't bind 1.1 to it. In my examples I didn't include "1" in my range {2..254} or $(seq 2 254). If you want to use .1 then you'll need to modify accordingly.

The question is why is this trying to bind to 1.1 since you have that EXPOSE line commented out...
Rgds
Stephen
cr12925
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by cr12925 »

sweh wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:17 am You appear to be missing 192.168.140.1/24 so you can't bind 1.1 to it. In my examples I didn't include "1" in my range {2..254} or $(seq 2 254). If you want to use .1 then you'll need to modify accordingly.

The question is why is this trying to bind to 1.1 since you have that EXPOSE line commented out...
Well the expose host is commented, but there’s an expose net for the whole of net 1… so it’s trying to expose 1.1…

C
2 x Master 128, BBC B+IntegraB, Viglen floppy drives, A3000 ZIDEFS+Econet, RISC PC StrongArm Mk3+Econet ModulePidule, 3 x Econets, 5 x Pi Econet bridges, organist, former purveyor of BBS software...
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

cr12925 wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 6:03 am
sweh wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:17 am You appear to be missing 192.168.140.1/24 so you can't bind 1.1 to it. In my examples I didn't include "1" in my range {2..254} or $(seq 2 254). If you want to use .1 then you'll need to modify accordingly.

The question is why is this trying to bind to 1.1 since you have that EXPOSE line commented out...
Well the expose host is commented, but there’s an expose net for the whole of net 1… so it’s trying to expose 1.1…

C
Well I don't understand it at all. 2.0 works perfectly, and 2.1-dev was working great although I haven't tried that again yet. I followed the instructions to the letter, to include the overlay, and the only thing I have found that is not quite the same is the overlay directory, which is at /boot/overlay instead of /boot/firmware/overlay. I may try a brand new fresh install, and order a new SD card to install it too. I was trying to avoid that, as its all setup nicely with scripts on boot and cron jobs for backups.
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

sweh wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:17 am You appear to be missing 192.168.140.1/24 so you can't bind 1.1 to it. In my examples I didn't include "1" in my range {2..254} or $(seq 2 254). If you want to use .1 then you'll need to modify accordingly.

The question is why is this trying to bind to 1.1 since you have that EXPOSE line commented out...
Yes, I saw that too, however 2.0 has been working perfectly and still is after reverting back to it. So I don't get it. Will try again tonight. As Chris mentioned, I expose the whole NET so I guess that is why it is trying to bind 1.1. Why it isn't working, when it does with 2.0 I do not know.
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
cr12925
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by cr12925 »

davehill wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 10:28 am
sweh wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:17 am You appear to be missing 192.168.140.1/24 so you can't bind 1.1 to it. In my examples I didn't include "1" in my range {2..254} or $(seq 2 254). If you want to use .1 then you'll need to modify accordingly.

The question is why is this trying to bind to 1.1 since you have that EXPOSE line commented out...
Yes, I saw that too, however 2.0 has been working perfectly and still is after reverting back to it. So I don't get it. Will try again tonight. As Chris mentioned, I expose the whole NET so I guess that is why it is trying to bind 1.1. Why it isn't working, when it does with 2.0 I do not know.
Well I think my conclusion is that v2.0 is the version getting something wrong! I’d suggest adding 192.168.140.1 to the list of interfaces you create… :)

C
2 x Master 128, BBC B+IntegraB, Viglen floppy drives, A3000 ZIDEFS+Econet, RISC PC StrongArm Mk3+Econet ModulePidule, 3 x Econets, 5 x Pi Econet bridges, organist, former purveyor of BBS software...
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

cr12925 wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 11:08 am
Well I think my conclusion is that v2.0 is the version getting something wrong! I’d suggest adding 192.168.140.1 to the list of interfaces you create… :)

C
I tried that. Simply changed 2 to 1 in the script and checked the IP's created included .1. Still didnt work, got the bind error. I am going to try again tonight with a bourbon and ginger ale. Hoping that will solve the problem :-D
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
cr12925
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by cr12925 »

Happy to look into this further - but the error arises within eb_setup_aun_listener_socket() which I don't think has changed from v2.0!

Leave it with me. If any further debug is available, please let me know.

In fact, if you've got a v2.0 instance available on this config. can you PM me the output of telnetting to port 6809 on the bridge please? (You might need telnet installing...

Code: Select all

sudo apt install telnet
telnet localhost 6809
Edit: I have now tried your config on a clean pull of v2.1-pre, with the IP addresses created on my lo interface, and the tun0 interface as per yours, and the various FS directories created under /home/pi/SERVERS and it starts fine(!). So I'm a bit at a loss....

C.
2 x Master 128, BBC B+IntegraB, Viglen floppy drives, A3000 ZIDEFS+Econet, RISC PC StrongArm Mk3+Econet ModulePidule, 3 x Econets, 5 x Pi Econet bridges, organist, former purveyor of BBS software...
User avatar
Mince
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by Mince »

Might be worth trying a 'netstat -anp' and seeing what the output of that is — that should report if anything is listening already.
BBC Master— PiTube 3A+ PiVDU, PicoTube, Pi1MHz, MMFS, ANFS, MultiOS
BBC B — Integra ß, PiTube Zero 2W, Pi1MHz, MMFS, DFS, ADFS, ANFS
Electron — Plus 1 w/ AP6 2V2, AP5, PiTube 3A+, Pi1MHz, PRES AP3+4, Elkeconet or ATI/ABR, ElkSD 64/Plus 1
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

cr12925 wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 12:16 pm Edit: I have now tried your config on a clean pull of v2.1-pre, with the IP addresses created on my lo interface, and the tun0 interface as per yours, and the various FS directories created under /home/pi/SERVERS and it starts fine(!). So I'm a bit at a loss....

C.
Well, I don't know what to say. I did it again, and it all just works!?!?!?!?! No issues at all.

Code: Select all

pi@econetrpi:~ $ cd PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ make
sudo groupadd econet
groupadd: group 'econet' already exists
make: [Makefile:6: install-mkgroup] Error 9 (ignored)
sudo usermod -a -G econet `whoami`
[ -d /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build ] || sudo ln -s /usr/src/linux-headers-`uname -r` /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build
[ -f include/econet-gpio-kernel-mode.h ] || touch include/econet-gpio-kernel-mode.h
cd module ; make clean ; make
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module'
make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module clean
make[2]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-6.1.21-v7l+'
  CLEAN   /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/Module.symvers
make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-6.1.21-v7l+'
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module'
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module'
make -I../include -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module modules
make[2]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-6.1.21-v7l+'
  CC [M]  /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/econet-gpio-module.o
  LD [M]  /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/econet-gpio.o
  MODPOST /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/Module.symvers
  CC [M]  /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/econet-gpio.mod.o
  LD [M]  /home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module/econet-gpio.ko
make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-6.1.21-v7l+'
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/module'
[ -f /etc/udev/rules.d/90-econet.rules ] || sudo cp udev/90-econet.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/90-seconet.rules
sudo cp module/econet-gpio.ko /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net
sudo /usr/sbin/depmod
sudo systemctl stop econet-hpbridge
cd utilities ; make
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/utilities'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for 'all'.
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/pi/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge/utilities'
[ -d /etc/econet-gpio ] || sudo mkdir -p /etc/econet-gpio
[ -d /etc/econet-gpio/printers ] || sudo cp -r printers /etc/econet-gpio
[ -d /home/`whoami`/econetfs ] || mkdir -p /home/`whoami`/econetfs/0PIBRIDGE-00 || mkdir -p /home/`whoami`/econetfs/1STORAGE
[ -f /etc/econet-gpio/pserv.sh ] || sudo cp config/pserv.sh /etc/econet-gpio
sudo chgrp econet utilities/econet-hpbridge utilities/econet-imm utilities/econet-monitor utilities/econet-test utilities/econet-clock utilities/econet-ledtest
sudo chmod u=rx,g=rxs utilities/econet-hpbridge utilities/econet-imm utilities/econet-monitor utilities/econet-test utilities/econet-clock utilities/econet-ledtest
sudo cp utilities/econet-hpbridge utilities/econet-monitor utilities/econet-test utilities/econet-clock utilities/econet-ledtest /usr/local/sbin
sudo cp utilities/econet-imm utilities/econet-ipgw utilities/econet-notify utilities/econet-remote utilities/econet-fslist utilities/econet-trace utilities/econet-servers /usr/local/bin
sudo cp utilities/remove_xattr utilities/xattr_to_dotfile /usr/local/bin
utilities/config-mangle config/econet-hpbridge.cfg-EconetPlusFileserver
utilities/config-mangle config/econet-hpbridge.cfg-EconetFSPlusAcornAUN
utilities/config-mangle config/econet-hpbridge.cfg-EconetPlusFileserverAndTrunk
utilities/config-mangle config/econet-hpbridge.cfg-EconetFSPlusDynamicAUN
utilities/config-mangle systemd/econet-hpbridge.service
[ -f /etc/econet-gpio/econet-hpbridge.cfg ] || (sudo cp config/econet-hpbridge.cfg-EconetPlusFileserver.local /etc/econet-gpio/econet-hpbridge.cfg ; sudo chown `whoami` /etc/econet-gpio/econet-hpbridge.cfg )
[ -f /etc/systemd/system/econet-hpbridge.service ] || sudo cp systemd/econet-hpbridge.service.local /etc/systemd/system/econet-hpbridge.service
sudo cp BEEBMEM /etc/econet-gpio
sudo systemctl daemon-reload
sudo systemctl enable econet-hpbridge
Created symlink /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/econet-hpbridge.service → /etc/systemd/system/econet-hpbridge.service.
sudo systemctl start econet-hpbridge
Install routine finished. Please ensure you have 'arm_freq=1000' (or your chosen frequency) and 'force_turbo=1' in /boot/config.txt (see README). Then please reboot. Note that Econet library utilities for use on your server are NOT included, but they may be found distributed with BeebEm for Windows, and copied using the CopyFiles utility onto your network.
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ sudo systemctl status econet-hpbridge.service 
● econet-hpbridge.service - Econet High Performance Bridge
     Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/econet-hpbridge.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Sun 2024-04-14 19:06:03 BST; 18s ago
   Main PID: 1702 (econet-hpbridge)
      Tasks: 24 (limit: 4915)
        CPU: 879ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/econet-hpbridge.service
             └─1702 /usr/local/sbin/econet-hpbridge

Apr 14 19:06:03 econetrpi systemd[1]: Started Econet High Performance Bridge.
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ 
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ sudo systemctl stop econet-hpbridge.service 
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ 
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ 
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ make eeprom-general 
cd dts ; ./dtcompile
econet-gpio-v1.dts:30.26-54.6: Warning (unit_address_vs_reg): /fragment@0/__overlay__/econet@0: node has a unit name, but no reg property
econet-gpio-v1.dts:30.26-54.6: Warning (unit_address_vs_reg): /fragment@0/__overlay__/econet@0: node has a unit name, but no reg property
econet-gpio-v2.dts:39.26-83.6: Warning (unit_address_vs_reg): /fragment@0/__overlay__/econet@0: node has a unit name, but no reg property
econet-gpio-v2.dts:39.26-83.6: Warning (unit_address_vs_reg): /fragment@0/__overlay__/econet@0: node has a unit name, but no reg property
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ sudo cp dts/econet-gpio-v2-overlay.dtbo /boot/overlays
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ sudo nano /boot/config.txt 
pi@econetrpi:~/PiBridge21pre/PiEconetBridge $ 
Rebooted, and everything is working just fine!! I am utterly and totally baffled, even more than last night, and I haven't even had a bourbon yet!!

Just because I am confused, is there a way to check that I am actually using v2.1-prerelease? I know I am not using v2.0 because it is econet-hpbridge.service starting and not econethpbridge.service. Confused, yes, totally!!
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
markusher
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by markusher »

*VIEW the fileserver will tell you which version it is running. git will also be able to tell you which version is pulled from the repository.
-Mark
2 x BBC, 1 Viglen BBC, M128, M512, M128+copro, 1 Master ET, BBC AIV Domesday System, E01S, E01, E20 Filestore, 3 x A4000, RISC PC 600,700, StrongArm. Probably more I've missed and all sorts of bits and pieces.
User avatar
KenLowe
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by KenLowe »

davehill wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 7:16 pm I haven't even had a bourbon yet!!
It sounds like that now needs to change!
davehill wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 7:16 pm Just because I am confused, is there a way to check that I am actually using v2.1-prerelease? I know I am not using v2.0 because it is econet-hpbridge.service starting and not econethpbridge.service. Confused, yes, totally!!
Another way... Run econet-hpbridge -h from the utilities folder. Later builds will tell you the version number
davehill
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:10 am
Contact:

Re: PiBridge 2.1-dev pushed to github

Post by davehill »

KenLowe wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 7:34 pm It sounds like that now needs to change!
Definitely, poured one and sat down to reply :-D
Another way... Run econet-hpbridge -h from the utilities folder. Later builds will tell you the version number
Thanks! Yes it's 2.1. What was going on yesterday I have no idea. Reboots galore, and nothing seemed to want to work!! Well its all working now, so who knows, who cares :-D

Thanks for all the replies, and help!
BBC Master, BBC Model B, Electron, A5000, A4000, RISC PC, PIBridge, Piconet, and too many Raspberry PI's and now an A4 😁
Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”