New port of Missile Command to the BBC Micro

developing/porting a new game or gaming framework? post in here!
tricky

New port of Missile Command to the BBC Micro

Post by tricky »

I'm still feeling less than 100%, but COVID is passing.
I started playing with Atari's Missile Command a few weeks ago after first looking at it a few years ago!
I'm still not sure that it will be easy as the software pixel plotting routines are about 15X slower than the HW versions in the arcade game!
I've probably finished for the day, but here is a sneak peek with all buttons pressed on free play, hence the continuous two player game!

URL:https://youtu.be/EaHIyEWFTd0 View at 720p+ for 50hz, not that it matter much with this game!
Last edited by tricky on Fri Apr 15, 2022 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
TobyLobster

Re: Possible new port of Missile Command to the BBC Micro

Post by TobyLobster »

Looking very good - the BBC could do with a better Missile Command. What would the controls be? You choose which base to fire from don't you?
tricky

Post by tricky »

I was thinking:
single for button fires from the third of the screen that the cross hair is in.
Keyboard has three fire buttons.
PS/2 Mouse/trackball has three buttons.
You can use keyboard and mouse/joystick at the same time, like my other games.
I generally like all controls to enable as they are detected, but I'm not sure about analogue Vs digital joystick.
TobyLobster

Post by TobyLobster »

Sounds good. Maybe if the chosen base to fire from is empty, then fire from the nearest one that isn't?
Re: digital vs analogue: I guess you could start by assuming a digital joystick. If you detect a joystick position that isn't close to the middle or extreme edge then you've found an analogue joystick.
tricky

Post by tricky »

I was thinking along those lines.
In most of my games I have no bytes to do any fancy checking, but space is looking plentiful, at least until I have to start adding code and sprites to speed up drawing.