Electro-Player

new graphics/music demos - bitshifters, 0xc0de, The Master + others
TôBach

Electro-Player

Post by TôBach »

Greetings folks!

I had always been wondering for quite a while about the sound capabilities of the Acorn Electron after seeing the "Racing the Beam" demo by 0xC0DE, I read up somewhere that it was a live data capture from an emulator, which seemed like quite a lot of faffing about that I wasn't really ready for, so I left it alone for a while.

But then one day I came across vgm2electron by simondotm and started getting quite excited about the possibilities, so I started looking for a player.
I eventually came across ElkPlayer by NegativeChange, as I am an Acorn hardware musician I wanted to be able to get my own tunes running on it, but there was no source, so I made my own! (No hard feelings my friend, I do much very appreciate your work!)

This was a great practice in learning about the hardware of the Acorn electron, I had to dig up several PDF's online of old Electron programming manuals, mostly for info about OS Vectors, ULA addresses, memory mapping and so on and even the odd old stardot thread, quite fun indeed!

Over a couple evenings I eventually cobbled together my own player out of what 6502 assembly knowledge I have, I am still learning!
Sadly I was only able to test in an emulator as I do not have an actual Electron, but one day hopefully!

Here is a video of a demonstration of the player as it stands at v1.0: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vtd8cs2DVVU
And here is a link to the Github repository for the player: https://github.com/OSToastBach/Electro-Player

This was my first proper 6502 assembly project for any Acorn hardware and hopefully not my last!
Loving the active community here at stardot and I hope to be more active since I am a lurker most of the time haha, hope everybody is doing well!

- Oscar
daveejhitchins

Re: Electro-Player

Post by daveejhitchins »

Sounding good . . . =D>

Dave H.