Simple Electon MMC Interface

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

Hi Guys,

A couple of days ago I received a Plus One from Dave H. Many thanks for this! After opening it up and having a good look at the schematic, I thought it might be possible to hook at 99p MMC interface directly up to the printer port.

The first issue with this is there is no +5V present, but that's easily fixed with a wire:
IMG_0865.JPG
There are several unconnected pins on the printer port (21..26). I chose pin 26 as this is typically connects to an input on the printer. Which means if you want to occasionally connect a printer than nothing bad should happen. If I had a 100mA PPTC resettable fuse to hand then I would have probably included that as well.

The following connections were then used between the Elk and the SD Card interface:

Code: Select all

Electron      SD Card
   2 GND ===> GND   (Black)
   3 PD0 ===> MOSI  (Grey)
   5 PD1 ===> SCLK  (White)
  10 GND ===> CS    (Blue)
  19 ACK <=== MISO  (Purple)
  26 +5V ===> +5V   (Red)
IMG_0858.JPG
The ROM cartridge contains a new build of MMFS 1.29 specially for the Elk printer port:
IMG_0859.JPG
To support the Plus One printer port, a new device is needed in MMFS:
https://github.com/hoglet67/MMFS/blob/m ... kPlus1.asm
The only part of this that's really new is the subroutines starting with P1_ that do the bit banging of the clock and data. The rest is pretty much the same as for the user port.

And here it is working:
IMG_0860.JPG
IMG_0861.JPG
IMG_0862.JPG
IMG_0863.JPG
IMG_0864.JPG
Speedwise, this will be a bit slower than MMFS connected to an EUP, but honestly it's not too bad at all.

If anyone wants to build one, then you need the latest release of MMFS (currently 1.30), and the build you need is in the "E" directory.
https://github.com/hoglet67/MMFS/releases

Dave
Last edited by hoglet on Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:42 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2925
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by sydney »

=D> =D> =D>
Fantastic work Dave
Might have to get an elk now.
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 3765
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by jms2 »

Nice work Dave - although I don't need to do this as I already have EUP.

What does interest me is your MMB image, which contains Electron games. I was thinking of putting one together myself as I thought that nothing similar existed online. Where did you get this one from, or did you make it?
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

jms2 wrote: What does interest me is your MMB image, which contains Electron games. I was thinking of putting one together myself as I thought that nothing similar existed online. Where did you get this one from, or did you make it?
It was created by Ray Harper:
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 62#p117962
rharper
Posts: 710
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Dunstable, LU6 1BH
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by rharper »

jms2 wrote:Nice work Dave - although I don't need to do this as I already have EUP.

What does interest me is your MMB image, which contains Electron games. I was thinking of putting one together myself as I thought that nothing similar existed online. Where did you get this one from, or did you make it?
It's mine all mine :evil:
I forget which thread it is already in but here it is again.
Ray :D
Attachments
ELKBEEBMMB.zip
(3.12 MiB) Downloaded 207 times
Raycomp
User avatar
davidb
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by davidb »

Looks good! I searched for similar projects elsewhere and found this one (via Hackaday).
User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 7888
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by daveejhitchins »

That's great work Dave . . .

What's needed now is some kind person to knock-up a design for a printed case so that the interface can just plug into the back of the Electron - no wires! The more options for the Electron the better :D

Dave H :D
Available: ARA II : ARA III-JR/PR : ABR : AP5 : AP6 : ABE : ATI : MGC : Plus 1 Support ROM : Plus 3 2nd DA : Prime's Plus 3 ROM/RAM : Pegasus 400 : Prime's MRB : ARCIN32 : Cross-32
User avatar
davidb
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by davidb »

Is there a way to avoid having to modify the parallel port connections?
User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 5636
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by MartinB »

Prior to my producing EUP, I did almost exactly the same thing with the Elk Pus 1 Printer port but my implementation was for an UPURS interface (of course!) It is on the forum somewhere (with a video) but I think it's in the forum search 'black hole' so I can't find it just now :roll: . I was however talked out of the idea by the wider forum audience because Plus 1 mods were considered a no-no since they'd likely rule out too many potential users. Consequently and subsequently, EUP was born.... :)

EDIT : Found it! (...by manual means :wink: )

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3114&p=44957#p44957
User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7048
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by CMcDougall »

Nice 8)
I can see my other 2 plus1s having a new 5v wire on them!

its about time someone done a 510 menu driven Discs from the Acorn World DVD....
ImageImageImage
duikkie
Posts: 3201
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by duikkie »

there is a mode6 menu like the mode7 menu for beeb.mmb , somewhere uploaded on this form
duikkie
Posts: 3201
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by duikkie »

with a little fix you can change the rom in the plus 1 in a bigger prom , maybe holding the rom software , then no slot needed
User avatar
myelin
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:17 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by myelin »

Nice job using the ACK line to get data back in! I'd written off the Plus 1's printer port for anything useful because I thought it was output-only :)
SW/EE from New Zealand, now in Mountain View, CA, making Beeb/Elk/Arc hardware projects for fun.
Most interesting: Arcflash, POST Box, Ultimate Electron Upgrade
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 12806
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by 1024MAK »

An output only port is sometimes useful (I use it for testing various LED displays). But yes, the single input line can be used. It is however a lot more limited compared to the 4 to 5 input bits on a full function port.

If you don't want to modify the Plus 1, you could always pick up the +5V from somewhere else. I'm mobile at the moment so can't check, but the analogue port may have a +5V line...

Mark
User avatar
davidb
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by davidb »

I was just wondering whether one of the other pins on the parallel port could be set high and used to power the MMC interface. I'm guessing that this wasn't an option given that the Plus 1 needed to be modified in the end.
User avatar
myelin
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:17 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by myelin »

davidb wrote:I was just wondering whether one of the other pins on the parallel port could be set high and used to power the MMC interface. I'm guessing that this wasn't an option given that the Plus 1 needed to be modified in the end.
The pins are driven by a 74LS373 or 74ALS373. Looking at some datasheets, it seems that both of these can source 2.6 mA, and will produce a voltage output of 2.4-3.3V while doing so. I don't have any strong specs for SD cards, but read somewhere that they need more like 80 mA, so you're probably out of luck powering one from a logic pin.
SW/EE from New Zealand, now in Mountain View, CA, making Beeb/Elk/Arc hardware projects for fun.
Most interesting: Arcflash, POST Box, Ultimate Electron Upgrade
User avatar
myelin
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:17 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by myelin »

1024MAK wrote:If you don't want to modify the Plus 1, you could always pick up the +5V from somewhere else. I'm mobile at the moment so can't check, but the analogue port may have a +5V line...
Looks like +5V comes out on pin 1:
plus one analog port schematic.png
SW/EE from New Zealand, now in Mountain View, CA, making Beeb/Elk/Arc hardware projects for fun.
Most interesting: Arcflash, POST Box, Ultimate Electron Upgrade
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

We did consider trying to drive the SD Card off the other output pins, but there just isn't sufficient current.
myelin wrote: Looks like +5V comes out on pin 1:
That's a good spot.

Do you have a link to the full Plus One schematic?
Edit: Found this, see below...

I've been working from Phill's re-drawn schematic:
download/file.php?id=1615
which I think incorrectly shows only -5V being available on the Analogue port.

So yes, this would be a good option for people who don't want to mod.

Dave
Last edited by hoglet on Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
DigitalDunc
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:27 pm
Location: Oadby, Leicster, UK.
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by DigitalDunc »

sydney wrote:=D> =D> =D>
Fantastic work Dave
Might have to get an elk now.
I have a few spare Elks and if you want one FOC just let me know.
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

hoglet wrote: Do you have a link to the full Plus One schematic?
I found a high quality copy of the original Acorn Plus One schematic here:
viewtopic.php?t=10413#p125767
Thanks to Steve Bagley for scanning this.

Dave
paulb
Posts: 1777
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by paulb »

hoglet wrote:
hoglet wrote: Do you have a link to the full Plus One schematic?
I found a high quality copy of the original Acorn Plus One schematic here:
viewtopic.php?t=10413#p125767
Thanks to Steve Bagley for scanning this.
Yes, that is so much clearer than the one I was using. Thanks to Steve from me, too!
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

Hi Guys,

Here's an updated version of MMFS that fixes a bug in SAVE with the Electron Plus One:
https://github.com/hoglet67/MMFS/releases

From now on I'm going to be using github as a repository for MMFS releases, rather than attaching them to forum threads.

Dave
User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7048
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by CMcDougall »

^ not noticed that bug yet, as was wiring one up yesterday, but then my Dryer has now decided not to go hot :evil:

found the .zip so that's easy, cheers =D>
ImageImageImage
User avatar
TheCorfiot
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by TheCorfiot »

Awesome !!!!!

Any Chance of a close up photo of the coloured wires going to the 20Pin IDC connector on your MMC Interface please, save having to decode The SD signals to User Port Pins...

Thanks Dave :)
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

TheCorfiot wrote:Any Chance of a close up photo of the coloured wires going to the 20Pin IDC connector on your MMC Interface please, save having to decode The SD signals to User Port Pins...
A picture won't actually help, as the IDC connector is not configured for a Beeb (it's the BeebFPGA one).

Just follow this and you should be OK:

Code: Select all

Electron      SD Card
   2 GND ===> GND   (Black)
   3 PD0 ===> MOSI  (Grey)
   5 PD1 ===> SCLK  (White)
  10 GND ===> CS    (Blue)
  19 ACK <=== MISO  (Purple)
  26 +5V ===> +5V   (Red)
User avatar
sirmorris
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: oxfordshire uk
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by sirmorris »

I've inherited a Slogger Rombox+. I have to admit that I've never really done any more with it than marvel at the special plastic and its yellowness. Would it happen to be register level compatible with the plus1?
User avatar
danielj
Posts: 9910
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by danielj »

Should be!
User avatar
TheCorfiot
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by TheCorfiot »

This works very well indeed, very simple but effective hookup :)

If anyone plans to use SirMorris MMC boards then you can ignore hooking up the blue wire as CS is tied low already on the board

:)
User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7048
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by CMcDougall »

just gave this a go, & =D> =D> =D>

notes:
My 5x eeproms are fine, but this does not work with DaveH's brilliant ATI/ABR cart :?
Does work with the Pegasus Slogger E00 DFS :)
Attachments
elkMMCplus1printer.jpg
ImageImageImage
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 12683
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Simple Electon MMC Interface

Post by hoglet »

CMcDougall wrote: My 5x eeproms are fine, but this does not work with DaveH's brilliant ATI/ABR cart :?
Col, can you say in what way it doesn't work with the ATI/ABR? Card? error, or some kind of crash before that?

Which flavour MMFS were you using, and how/where was it installed?

DaveH, is there a final schematic for the ATI/ABR posted somewhere? I checked the thread, and there does't seem to be one for the "Issue 2" with the GAL:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=558

Dave
Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”