Micromud

discuss classic text/graphic adventures for the bbc micro & electron
fuzzel

Micromud

Post by fuzzel »

I've just been reading a review, in an old Commodore User magazine, of a C64 game called Micromud, which was written by Jon Stuart and Paul McCraken on a BBC micro with 6502 second processor. It was never released commercially apparently due to the small market for 2nd processesor games. I wonder if this could be tracked down ? Perhaps it could be added to the "lost and found" archive ?
The game was a single player version of the original MUD multi user dungeon written by Roy Trubshaw and Richard Bartle at Essex University in the 1980s and played over the JANET (joint academic network). I remember playing a later version called MIST when I studied at Essex at the end of the 80's.
lurkio

Re: Micromud

Post by lurkio »

Could you please link to the issue of the magazine, or provide details (issue number and/or year, etc.)?

:?:
fuzzel

Post by fuzzel »

Commodore User issue 53 Feb 1988 - page 93
Can be found here:
https://archive.org/details/commodoreuser-magazine

Great website !
lurkio

Post by lurkio »

Thanks. Here's the relevant section of the review article:

It sounds like the Beeb was used only as a dev system, and the target system (on which end-users would play the game) was always going to be the C64. So the only people who might still have copies of the "original" Beeb version are the developers themselves, Stuart and McCraken, I reckon.

The C64 version already seems to be available, but if you're really keen to find the "original" and fancy a bit of a challenge, then I'd suggest trying to track the devs down. It's worked for me in the past, very often with positive results: developers of old Beeb software are usually very pleased to find that their work is still remembered and/or sought out by anyone, let alone an international forum of Acorn fans!

:idea:

-
Attachments
01.jpg
01.jpg (21.56 KiB) Viewed 9127 times
2.jpg